Pak vs NZ: Pakistan win toss, elect to bat first in final T20I

Saim Ayub has been left out for Haseebullah Khan at the top of the order in last T20I today

The toss is taking place between the captains of Pakistan and New Zealand on Jan 21, 2024. —x/jkjournalist

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first against the hosts, New Zealand in the fifth and last Twenty20 International at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on Sunday.

New Zealand already secured a commanding 4-0 lead in the five-match series, leaving Pakistan desperate for a face-saving win.

Both teams hit the field with some changes, with Pakistan going with a spin-heavy attack for the final game. Saim Ayub has been left out for Haseebullah Khan at the top of the order. Mohamed Wasim is dropping out for Usama Mir with Abbas Afridi coming in for Haris Rauf.

Daryl Mitchell will sit out the final T20I, with Rachin Ravindra set to replace him, as part of New Zealand’s workload management. Devon Conway missed the last game due to a positive COVID-19 test. The team awaited a Sunday morning decision on his availability for the final T20 clash.

In the previous match on Friday, Pakistan suffered a consecutive fourth humiliating defeat against the hosts in Christchurch. The Kiwis got better of the visitors by seven wickets leading towards a series whitewash.

Pakistan hit 158 for five in 20 overs with an undefeated 90-run knock from wicketkeeper-batter Rizwan. He struck six fours and two sixes during his 63-ball innings. He ran a 51-run partnership with Babar Azam (19) and added 40 runs during his partnership for the fifth wicket with Iftikhar Ahmed (10).

Left-handed Mohammad Nawaz scored an un­beaten 21 off nine balls with the help of three sixes in the 19th over of the innings. For New Zealand, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry bagged two wickets apiece.

In their innings, Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips stitched together an unbroken 139-run partnership for the fourth wicket to help New Zealand achieve the target in 18.1 overs.

Mitchell scored an unbeaten 72 off 44 balls, laced with seven fours and two sixes. Right-hand­ed Phillips scored a 52-ball 70, hitting five fours and three sixes.

Playing  XIs: 

Pakistan: Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haseebullah Khan, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Sahibzada Farhan, Abbas Afridi and Zaman Khan

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert, Will Young, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles