Home Sports FIFA World Cup 2026 schedule announced – SUCH TV

FIFA World Cup 2026 schedule announced – SUCH TV

FIFA World Cup 2026 schedule announced – SUCH TV


FIFA announced the schedule for the 2026 World Cup during a live broadcast at the Telemundo Center in Miami on Sunday.

The final of the mega event will be held in New York, New Jersey, on Sunday, 19 July 2026 and the opening match, involving the Mexican national team, will take place at the iconic Estadio Azteca Mexico City on Thursday, 11 June 2026.

Similar to Mexico, Canada and the United States will each play their three group-stage matches on home soil. Canada will begin their campaign in Toronto on Friday, 12 June 2026, while the United States will kick start their journey on the same day in Los Angeles.

“The most inclusive and impactful FIFA World Cup ever is no longer a dream but a reality that will take shape in the form of 104 matches in 16 state-of-the-art stadiums across Canada, Mexico and the USA. From the opening match at the iconic Estadio Azteca to the spectacular final in New York New Jersey players and fans have been at the core of our extensive planning for this game-changing tournament,” FIFA President Gianni Infantino said.

“I would like to thank our three host countries and 16 Host Cities for the unwavering commitment to staging a FIFA World Cup that will not only set new records but also leave an indelible legacy.”

Meanwhile, FIFA Vice-President and Concacaf President Victor Montagliani said: “The FIFA World Cup 26 will be a watershed moment and one that will trigger massive football development in our region and worldwide. While each Host City is unique, they all have something in common – they are passionate about football and cannot wait to welcome the world in June and July 2026.”

Match pairings and kick-off times will be confirmed following the Final Draw for the World Cup, which is likely to take place next year.

The bronze final will take place in Miami, whereas Dallas and Atlanta will hold the highly anticipated semi-finals. Dallas will host nine nine matches, the most of any host city at the event.

“Innovative match schedule ensures that three days of rest for teams is observed for 103 of the tournament’s 104 matches. Majority of matches to be played in three regionalised zones (east, central and west) to reduce travel for teams and fans,” FIFA added in a press release.

The final four matchdays during the group stage will include six matches per day. All other group-stage matchdays will feature four matches per day across four kick-off times.

Estadio Azteca Mexico City set to host opening match for the third time, making FIFA World Cup history as the first stadium to do so.

Canada will host its first FIFA World Cup, complementing its proud history of hosting top FIFA women’s and youth tournaments, including the successful FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015™.

USA to host FIFA World Cup for the second time, following record-setting 1994 edition. USA has also hosted two successful editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup (1999 and 2003).


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here