Home Sports PSL opening ceremony: Ali Zafar, Aima Baig to perform at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium

PSL opening ceremony: Ali Zafar, Aima Baig to perform at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium

PSL opening ceremony: Ali Zafar, Aima Baig to perform at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium


Stadium’s gates to be opened at 3:30pm with festivities slated to commence at 6:30pm

Poster featuring the stars set to feature in the PSL 9 opening ceremony. – X/@thePSLt20

The ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 9) is set to kick off with the opening ceremony in Lahore, featuring Ali Zafar, Aima Baig and others in a star-studded show coupled with fireworks and an impressive laser show.

This year’s PSL holds special significance for Lahore, marking the city’s first time hosting the opening ceremony. The excitement is palpable, with fans decked in team colours and sporting celebratory banners. Local businesses have joined the spirit, offering special deals and decorations to commemorate the occasion.

The stadium’s gates will be opened at 3:30pm as the festivities, which will also feature performances by Noori, Arif Lohar, Leo Twins, and Natasha Baig, will commence at 6:30pm, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said in a statement.

Beyond the glitz and glamour, the ceremony also signifies the start of a nearly four-week cricketing extravaganza. With top international and Pakistani players with the likes of Shaheen Shah Afridi, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw, Kieron Pollard and others vying for glory, the tournament promises nail-biting matches as witnessed by fans in the tournament’s previous editions.

PSL 9 will be played in four cities with Karachi, Lahore, Multan, and Rawalpindi to host 34 matches of the marquee event.

As per the details, Lahore stadium will host nine matches, which includes Qalandars playing five matches on their home turf.

The picturesque Multan Cricket Stadium will host five matches – all Multan Sultans fixtures. Lahore and Multan will host the first leg of the league from 17 to 27 February before action moves to Karachi and Rawalpindi.

Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi will host nine matches from March 2 to 10 with United featuring in five matches. Peshawar Zalmi will play four of their 10 matches in Rawalpindi, while Quetta Gladiators will play three matches at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Karachi’s National Bank Stadium will host 11 matches including the grand finale on March 18. The home side Karachi Kings will play a minimum of five matches at the venue, while Gladiators will get to play at least three matches at the stadium.


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here